Northern District of Ohio (N.D. Ohio)
Common questions
Who can be admitted to the bar of the Northern District of Ohio (N.D. Ohio)?
Admitted to highest court of any state/territory/D.C. or a U.S. district court, in good standing, good character (LCivR 83.5). Rule: LCivR 83.5; LCrR 57.5.
What is the admission fee for the Northern District of Ohio (N.D. Ohio)?
$237 (paid after approval via PACER). Payment: you will receive a link via email to pay the $248 admission fee.
Does the Northern District of Ohio (N.D. Ohio) allow pro hac vice admission, and what does it cost?
Pro hac vice available: Yes. Local counsel: Not specified on page. Fee: $120 each time.
General admission
- Who qualifies
- Admitted to highest court of any state/territory/D.C. or a U.S. district court, in good standing, good character (LCivR 83.5)
- Rule
- LCivR 83.5; LCrR 57.5
- Sponsor
- By clerk: personal statement endorsed by two bar members; or oral motion by bar member
- Exam or course
- Evidence of attendance at N.D. Ohio federal court practice seminar (clerk method)
- Good standing cert.
- Required
- Oath
- Required
- Swearing-in
- may be admitted without appearing in Court
- Fee
- $237 (paid after approval via PACER)
- Fee payment
- you will receive a link via email to pay the $248 admission fee
2 not found in the pulled documents
- Certificate age
- Not in the pulled documents
- Apply
- Not in the pulled documents
Pro hac vice
- Available
- Yes
- Who qualifies
- Member in good standing of bar of any U.S. court or highest court of any state
- Rule
- LCivR 83.5(h); LCrR 57.5(h)
- Local counsel
- Not specified on page
- Residency limits
- No office in district required unless otherwise ordered by the Court
- Certifications
- COGS not older than 30 days or 28 USC 1746 affidavit; statement of any disbarment/suspension/reprimand
- Fee
- $120 each time
- Fee covers
- be permitted to appear and participate in a particular case, or in a group of related cases
3 not found in the pulled documents
- Limits
- Not in the pulled documents
- Form
- Not in the pulled documents
- E-filing
- Not in the pulled documents
Ongoing and other
- Bankruptcy court
- Local Rule #2090-1
- Rules dated
- December 1, 2023
3 not found in the pulled documents
- Renewal
- Not in the pulled documents
- CLE or course
- Not in the pulled documents
- Pending changes
- Not in the pulled documents
Language from the source documents
16 quoted passages
Who qualifies
they shall have been admitted to practice in the highest court of any state, territory, the District of Columbia, an insular possession, or in any district court of the United Statesohnd.uscourts.gov
Reciprocity routes
so long as the applicant submits a certificate of good standing from the Southern District of Ohio showing that the attorney has been admitted to practice for at least the past two yearsohnd.uscourts.gov
Admission rule
Rule 83.5 Admission of Attorneys to Practice in the Northern District of Ohioohnd.uscourts.gov
Sponsor
which shall be endorsed by two members of the Bar of this Court who are not related to the applicant,ohnd.uscourts.gov
Exam or course
(4) evidence of attendance at a Northern District of Ohio federal district court practice seminar.ohnd.uscourts.gov
Good standing certificate
a certificate from the presiding Judge or Clerk of the proper court evidencing the applicant's admission to practice there and that he or she is presently in good standingohnd.uscourts.gov
Oath
Each applicant shall subscribe or take the following oath or affirmation, viz.: I, [Name] , do solemnly swear (or affirm) that as an attorney of this Court I will conduct myself uprightlyohnd.uscourts.gov
Pro hac vice available
may, upon written or oral motion and payment of the pro hac vice admission fee (which is $120.00), be permitted to appear and participate in a particular caseohnd.uscourts.gov
Pro hac vice: who qualifies
any member in good standing of the Bar of any court of the United States or of the highest court of any stateohnd.uscourts.gov
Local counsel
it shall not be necessary for any attorney entitled to practice before the District Court or permitted to appear and participate in a case or proceeding to associate with or to designate an attorney with an office in this districtohnd.uscourts.gov
Residency limits
Unless otherwise ordered by the Court, it shall not be necessary for any attorney entitled to practice before the District Courtohnd.uscourts.gov
Pro hac vice fee
payment of the pro hac vice admission fee (which is $120.00), be permitted to appear and participate in a particular case, or in a group of related cases.ohnd.uscourts.gov
Fee payment
Once the application and supporting documents have been submitted and approved by the Court you will receive a link via email to pay the $248 admission fee.ohnd.uscourts.gov
Swearing-in
If the documents submitted by the applicant demonstrate that he or she possesses the necessary qualifications, the Clerk shall so notify or advise the applicant, and he or she may be admitted without appearing in Court.ohnd.uscourts.gov
Pro hac vice fee covers
any member in good standing of the Bar of any court of the United States or of the highest court of any state may, upon written or oral motion and payment of the pro hac vice admission fee (which is $120.00), be permitted to appear and participate in a particular case, or in a group of related cases.ohnd.uscourts.gov