Home › State bars › Idaho

Idaho

Admission on motion available  Court page

Common questions

Can a lawyer be admitted in Idaho without taking the bar exam (admission on motion)?

Admission on motion available. 3 of last 5 yrs active practice (substantially engaged, in one or more states); JD/LLB from Approved Law School (Rule 202(a)(3)); MPRE 85 (Rule 202(b)); admitted by highest court of a state/territory/DC; no failed bar exam in preceding 5 yrs; character & fitness; fee $1,200; processing 60-90 days

Does Idaho accept a transferred Uniform Bar Exam score?

UBE score transfer accepted for NextGen UBE or Legacy UBE; minimum UBE score and validity period not stated

What are the pro hac vice requirements and fee in Idaho state courts?

Local counsel: Yes. Must associate Idaho Bar active member as Local Counsel, who must personally attend proceedings unless excused by judge; written consent Fee: $625 to Idaho State Bar (after Feb. 2, 2026; I.B.C.R. 227(a)(4))

Admission on motion

Requirements
3 of last 5 yrs active practice (substantially engaged, in one or more states); JD/LLB from Approved Law School (Rule 202(a)(3)); MPRE 85 (Rule 202(b)); admitted by highest court of a state/territory/DC; no failed bar exam in preceding 5 yrs; character & fitness; fee $1,200; processing 60-90 days
Years of practice
no less than three of the five years immediately preceding the Application, substantially engaged in the Active Practice of Law
Reciprocity
NOT FOUND (no reciprocity condition seen in Rule 206 summary)
Reciprocity states
Not applicable: no reciprocity
Fee
$1,200.00
Rule
Idaho Bar Commission Rule (IBCR) 206
UBE score transfer
UBE score transfer accepted for NextGen UBE or Legacy UBE; minimum UBE score and validity period not stated
MPRE
85; must have already taken MPRE or take within two MPRE administrations of applying
Other routes
House counsel (fee $800; Idaho office limited to house counsel practice); Emeritus limited license; Military spouse provisional admission (IBCR 229); legal-services/other not checked
Foreign attorneys
Yes - Foreign Legal Consultant may be licensed without bar examination to advise on foreign law
Military spouse
Yes - Military Spouse Provisional Admission without taking Idaho bar examination for dependents residing in Idaho due to military orders
2 not found in the pulled documents
UBE minimum
Not in the pulled documents
UBE score window
Not in the pulled documents

State-court pro hac vice

Rule
IBCR 227
Local counsel
Yes. Must associate Idaho Bar active member as Local Counsel, who must personally attend proceedings unless excused by judge; written consent
Limits
No numerical cap, except reciprocal restriction if applicant's home state limits Idaho lawyers
Fee
$625 to Idaho State Bar (after Feb. 2, 2026; I.B.C.R. 227(a)(4))
Procedure
Motion in the court designating local counsel with consent; serve all counsel of record; submit to Idaho State Bar the fee, certificate of good standing (within 30 days), and copy of motion; proposed order to court; Bar keeps public record; consent to disciplinary jurisdiction

Language from the source documents

11 quoted passages
On motion
(3) Has been substantially engaged in the Active Practice of Law in one or more states or territories of the United States or the District of Columbia for no less than three of the five years immediately preceding the Application.
isb.idaho.gov
On-motion rule
RULE 206. Admission Based on Practice Experience.
isb.idaho.gov
UBE transfer
Please contact the National Conference of Bar Examiners (NCBE; ncbex.org ) to request that an official NextGen UBE or Legacy UBE score transcript be sent directly to the Idaho State Bar.
isb.idaho.gov
Other routes
RULE 229. Military Spouse Provisional Admission.
isb.idaho.gov
Local counsel
Unless specifically excused from attendance by the trial judge, Local Counsel shall personally appear with the pro hac vice attorney on all matters before the court.
isb.idaho.gov
phv_limits
Except as provided in subsection (2) below, there is no limitation on the number of pro hac vice admissions that may be granted to an attorney.
isb.idaho.gov
Pro hac vice fee
Pays a $625 fee to the Bar , $125 of which shall be remitted by the Bar to the Idaho Law Foundation to support its pro bono legal services program.
isb.idaho.gov
Years of practice
Has been substantially engaged in the Active Practice of Law in one or more states or territories of the United States or the District of Columbia for no less than three of the five years immediately preceding the Application.
isb.idaho.gov
MPRE
UBE score transfer applicants must also have already taken the MPRE, or must take the MPRE within two MPRE administrations of applying to transfer their UBE score to Idaho. The MPRE is administered in March, August and November. Idaho’s MPRE passing score is 85.
isb.idaho.gov
Foreign attorneys
In its discretion, the Supreme Court may license to practice in Idaho as a Foreign Legal Consultant, without bar examination, an Applicant who:
isb.idaho.gov
Military spouse
In order to be admitted to practice law without taking the Idaho bar examination, a Provisional Admission Applicant must show to the satisfaction of the Board that he or she:
isb.idaho.gov

Quotes are copied from the court or bar document and machine-checked against its text. The current rules control.

16 of 18 fields have a value, are stated as none, or do not apply.

Sources

Federal district courts in Idaho

Last checked 2026-10-02 · · Back to the map